The Prep Beat

News updates on area high schools. By Sun sports staff writers Chuck Stark, Jeff Graham, Annette Griffus and Nathan Joyce.
Subscribe to RSS

Klahowya wrestlers helping in Annual Day of Caring

June 20th, 2014 by Annette Griffus

The Klahowya wrestling team will be participating in the 21st United Way Annual Day of Caring on Friday June 27th. The team will be working on a service project at The Children of the Nations campus in Silverdale. The event is spearheaded by senior Eli Everson.

For more information, contact Everson


Central Kitsap’s Anduze commits to Arizona

June 20th, 2014 by jeff graham

Central Kitsap football coach Mark Keel played collegiately at the University of Arizona. Now one of his players is headed there.

Cougars tight end Brion Anduze, class of 2015, committed to Arizona on Friday. Anduze also had offers from Army and Air Force. Washington also showed interest in Anduze.

Boys Soccer: Locals earn all-state honors

June 18th, 2014 by jeff graham

Bainbridge’s Will Economy, North Kitsap’s Raul DeLuna and Kingston’s Tommy Nitchman earned first-team honors this week as the Washington State Soccer Coaches Association revealed its all-state teams.

At the Class 4A level, Central Kitsap’s Stevie Johnson earned honorable mention as a midfielder. At 3A, Economy made the first-team at forward.

At 2A, DeLuna was a first-team midfielder and Nitchman a first-team defender. The second-team include North Kitsap forward Utsav Shaha and Kingston midfielder Alex Hernandez. Kingston goalkeeper Alex Worland and North Mason forward Danny Wiseman received honorable mention.

North Kitsap hires wrestling coach

June 11th, 2014 by nathan joyce

North Kitsap hired former Kingston assistant Tim Larson as its new wrestling coach. He’s also an assistant football coach for the Bucs.

All-State baseball nominees released

June 8th, 2014 by nathan joyce

The West Sound Senior All-Star game is Monday at the Fairgrounds at 4 p.m. (the Softball Showcase is going on at the same time).
Usually, it’s a doubleheader, but a lack of seniors this year has it down to a single nine-inning game.
Each year, 10 players from the game are nominated to play in the Senior All-State series in Yakima. This year, the game is being played after the deadline so the 10 nominees are out. Here’s the 10:
1. Matheny – 3B (2A) Olympic HS
2. Ludlow – 1B/C (4A) South Kitsap HS
3. Knowles – INF (4A) South Kitsap HS
4. Zurbrugg – C (2A) Bremerton HS
5. Wright OF – (2A) Sequim HS
6. Cartharius P/OF – (2A) Olympic Hs
7. Pinkerton C/1B – (4A) South Kitsap HS
8. Johnston P/1B – (2A) Sequim HS
9. Paulson OF/C – (4A) South Kitsap HS
10. Rabedeaux INF – (2A) Kingston HS
We should find out either Sunday or Monday which of these nominees made the cut.

South Kitsap seeking girls soccer coach

June 5th, 2014 by jeff graham

It happens every year. School is about to come to a close and before the summer hits, news of coaching vacancies hits.

South Kitsap athletic director Ed Santos said Thursday that girls soccer coach Julie Cain has stepped down after five seasons coaching the Wolves. Cain, who also spent one season coaching the boys team, has two young children with a third on the way.

South Kitsap finished 8-6-3 in the fall and lost in the Class 4A bi-district tournament to Federal Way.


Miah Davis takes over Bremerton basketball program

June 5th, 2014 by nathan joyce

The Bremerton Knights are turning to one of the greatest players in its program’s history to guide boys basketball program.
Miah Davis was named the coach on Thursday.
Davis led the Knights to a fifth-place finish at the Class 3A state tournament in 1999. He was the Big West player of the year in 2004 when he played at Pacific and led the Tigers to the Sweet 16. He’s spent his career playing overseas.
Update: Bremerton athletic director Jeff Barton said the hiring isn’t official and they can’t talk about it on Thursday. Sounds like it could be come official on Friday.

Bainbridge’s 2007 team returns to take on current squad

June 4th, 2014 by nathan joyce

The Bainbridge basketball program is hosting a fundraiser for its boosters program, and it will pit the 2007 version, which advanced to the state title game, against the 2014 version.
The game is June 16 at 7:30 p.m. at Paski Gymnasium.
Returning for the 2007 team will be Steven Gray, who just finished up his season in France, Coby Gibler, who played at Central Washington, and Ben Eisenhardt, who ail be playing in Israel.
Admission is $5 for adults and $3 kids.

Christen’s 800 time No. 4 in the nation

June 3rd, 2014 by nathan joyce

Rose Christen was second in the Class 4A 800 at the state track and field championships on Saturday. Now that the times are updated from the weekend, her time of 2:05.62 (No. 2 in state history and No. 1 in West Sound history) is the No. 4 time in the nation. Camas’ Alexa Efraimson, who won in 2:04.10, is No. 2.

Boys Soccer: All-League team for Narrows, Metro

June 3rd, 2014 by jeff graham

All-Narrows League
MVP—Jamison Corbin, sr., Olympia: Drew Barker, sr., Bellarmine.
Coach of the year—Todd Northstrom, Gig Harbor
First team
F—Ian Hesse, so., Olympia; Jon Brown, jr., Gig Harbor; Edwin Brown, jr., Gig Harbor
MF—Stevie Johnson, Central Kitsap; Davis McCall, sr., Gig Harbor; Tanner Stepp, jr., Gig Harbor; Ian Northstrom, jr., Gig Harbor; Aaron Weathington, sr., South Kitsap; Isaac Russell, soph., Bellrmine
D—Jonas Sarback, sr., Olympia; Chris Sutton, jr., Olympia; Jake Thomson, sr., Gig Harbor; Aaron Williams, soph., Bellarmine; Billy Larson, soph., Bellarmine
GK—Davin Johnosn, jr., Olympia; Matt Stevens, sr., Gig Harbor
Second team
F—Luke Witken, jr., Bellarmine; Bryce Winkler, sr., Olympia; Andrew Moreland, jr., Yelm; Joel Jacobsen, jr., Gig Harbor
MF—Logan Beachy, soph., Central Kitsap; Neil Boyal, soph., Olympia; Ryan Clark, soph., Bellarmine; Hunter Hwang, jr., Stadium
D—Chad Warrington, jr., South Kitsap; Gabe Coupe, sr., Central Kitsap; Patrick Moore, sr., Central Kitsap; Casey Saul, jr., Yelm; Elijah Wolf, soph., Bellarmine; Ben Long, jr., Gig Harbor; Rowan Deatwiler, jr., Gig Harbor; Austin Yon, sr., Stadium
GK—Alex Lund, sr., Central Kitsap; Brandon Pruett, jr., Olympia; Sean Carlin, fr., Bellarmine
Honorable mention
Central Kitsap, Taylor Mimaki, fr.; Skyler Stephens, fr.; Andrew Quam, sr.; Andrew Campbell, fr.

All-Metro Mountain Division
Player of the year—Wallis Lapsley, Lakeside.
First team
F—Peter Frawley, sr., Bainbridge; Andrew Fischer, jr., Seattle Prep; Gaby Joseph, sr., Lakeside; William Economy, sr., Bainbridge; Hunter Hannay, sr., Bishop Blanchet; Noah Cavanaugh, sr., Seattle Prep.
MF—Wyatt Paul, jr., Lakeside; Miles Sanchez, so., Eastside Catholic; Anderson Hirst, jr., Bishop Blanchet; Keats Hoonan, sr., Bainbridge.
D—Ben Freeman, sr., Bainbridge; Mark Harris, sr., Seattle Prep; Ian Dorney, jr. Eastside Catholic; Cole Burrows, sr., Bishop Blanchet; Arthur McCray, sr., D, Lakeside;
GK—Wallis Lapsley, jr., Lakeside.
Second team
F—Ciaran O’Lary, jr., Bishop Blanchet; Gerrit Mahling, jr., Bainbridge; Aaron Callow, sr., Eastside Catholic; Sharif Kombo, so., Lakeside.
MF—Nate Kearney, so., Eastside Catholic; Tanner Salmon, jr., Bainbridge; Nick Nguyen, sr., O’Dea; Kevin Stordahl, jr., O’Dea; Sam Agosti, so., Lakeside; Johnnie Swan, fr., Seattle Prep.
D—Sam Johnson, so., O’Dea; Matt Dayton, jr., Lakeside; Colum McKannay, sr., Bishop Blanchet; Jerry Russell, sr., Bainbridge; Alex Piedra, jr., Bishop Blanchet; Tyler Bianchetto, sr., Seattle Prep.
GK—Cory Johnson, Jr., Seattle Prep.
Honorable Mention
Bainbridge—Devon Reynolds, so., GK.

Available on Kindle