The Prep Beat

News updates on area high schools. By Sun sports staff writers Chuck Stark, Jeff Graham, Annette Griffus and Nathan Joyce.
Subscribe to RSS
Back to The Prep Beat

Archive for the ‘Football’ Category

California passes law on contact at football practices

Wednesday, July 23rd, 2014

There is now a state law on contact at football practice. It’s not a rule passes by its version of the WIAA, it’s a law passed by the legislature and signed by the governor. You can read the details here.

Oly alum Dixon is on Army football’s poster

Wednesday, July 23rd, 2014

West Sound rushing leader and Olympic High alum Larry Dixon made the cover of the Army football’s poster for its upcoming season. Dixon is a captain alongside quarterback Geoffery Bacon, and new head coach Jeff Monken.


West Sound players named to All-Star football game

Saturday, June 21st, 2014

Several West Sound high school football players were invited to play in Saturday’s Earl Barden East/West All-Star game in Yakima.

Kingston’s Aaron Dickson, a running back/linebacker, was named as well as Klahowya’s David Leer, a lineman, to the West roster.

Port Townsend coach Nick Snyder was named the coach for the West. PT players include Skyler Coppenrath, a tight end/defensive end, and quarterback/defensive back Jacob King.

The game included 80 of the top outgoing seniors from the 1B, 2B, 1A and 2A classifications.

Central Kitsap’s Anduze commits to Arizona

Friday, June 20th, 2014

Central Kitsap football coach Mark Keel played collegiately at the University of Arizona. Now one of his players is headed there.

Cougars tight end Brion Anduze, class of 2015, committed to Arizona on Friday. Anduze also had offers from Army and Air Force. Washington also showed interest in Anduze.

Olympic removes interim tag from football coach

Friday, May 16th, 2014

Sal Quitevis, who took over the Olympic football program on an interim basis last summer, has been given the job officially.
Olympic athletic director Nate Andrews removed the interim tag on Friday. Quitevis led the Trojans to a 5-5 record and into the Class 2A West Central District tournament, where they lost to Lindbergh 20-0.
Andrews said this in an email:
“Sal agreed to step up at a time when we were in a real bind regarding our head football coach position and he has done a remarkable job considering the complexity of the position. Knowing the position was only guaranteed for one year, and stepping in with little experience, he selflessly committed his time and energy to lead both his coaching staff and his players during the 2013 season and this off-season. As an alumni of OHS and someone that truly believes OHS Football can be a perennial power, we felt Sal was the right person to lead that effort.”
Quitevis took over for Brad Hamblet, the former Klahowya football coach, who took over one season as Tim Allbee was having healthy problems.

Indiana requiring concussion testing for football coaches

Tuesday, March 25th, 2014

Here is a story from the Indianapolis Star about Indiana becoming first state in the nation to require concussion-awareness training for high school and youth football coaches.

Indiana’s governor signed a bill into law Monday that requires coaches (head coaches and assistants) to take a concussion-awareness course approved by the state’s department of education.

Coaches must take the course every two years and pass a test showing they understand the course content.

CK’s Anduze taking unofficial vist to Washington

Tuesday, March 11th, 2014

Central Kitsap junior football player Brion Anduze is taking an unofficial visit to the University of Washington on Saturday.

Anduze plays tight end and defensive end for the Cougars. As a tight end, Anduze projects to be one of the top prospects in the state for the class of 2015. Here is his profile according to the National Collegiate Scouting Association.

$60M Texas high school football stadium shut down

Friday, February 28th, 2014

From the Oh, really? file, the Texas high school stadium that cost $60 million (yes, that’s SIXTY) is being shut down 18 months after it opened.

Why? Cracks in the foundation.

What did they spend the money on? The scoreboard? Was Jerry Jones involved in this?

Here’s the story from the Associated Press.

Cracks force closure of $60M Texas HS stadium 

ALLEN, Texas (AP) — A $60 million Texas high school stadium that got national attention for its grandeur and price tag will be shut down indefinitely 18 months after its opening, school district officials said Thursday.

Eagle Stadium in the Dallas suburb of Allen will be closed until at least June for an examination of “extensive cracking” in the concrete of the stadium’s concourse, the district said in a statement Thursday. The closure will likely affect home games at the stadium this fall, the district said.

Built in 2012 as part of a $120 million bond issue, Eagle Stadium seats 18,000 people and sports a 38-foot-wide video board. Eagle Stadium’s opening was a moment of triumph for the community of Allen, a fast-growing Dallas suburb that has become home to a high school football powerhouse. The Eagles won the Class 5A Division I state championship last year.

District officials defended the cost — an eye-popping figure even in football-mad Texas, home to hundreds of schools playing under the “Friday Night Lights” — by calling the stadium an investment for generations of future Eagles fans and a much-needed upgrade from the district’s previous 35-year-old field.

They planned to host state playoff games and other events at Eagle Stadium. Instead, the district’s graduation ceremonies will be affected and all other events are now on hold.

“This is a significant investment for our community. We are very disappointed and upset that these problems have arisen,” said interim superintendent Beth Nicholas said. “It is unacceptable. Our students, families, and the entire community have always supported the district and our commitment to them is to make sure this issue is appropriately resolved.”

Officials said an engineering firm has completed about 10 percent of its review of the stadium. It is expected to recommend “appropriate” repairs, the statement said.

PBK Architects, the Texas firm that designed the stadium, did not return a message seeking comment Thursday.

Here’s what the Metro League could look like

Saturday, February 8th, 2014

Here’s the proposed alignment of the Metro League. This is for football, but it could be for other sports.
It seems pretty similar for Bainbridge, as they are in the division with all the private schools. All the other public schools are in two other divisions.
Which means, Bainbridge will keep playing powers O’Dea and Eastside Catholic in football.

SK getting closer to new football field?

Thursday, February 6th, 2014

South Kitsap football coach Eric Canton spent some time outside Wednesday morning, but it wasn’t for the Seahawks’ victory parade.
He watched as eight holes were dug — 12 inches wide and five feet deep — on the school’s football field. The soil samples will be used to determine drainage requirements as South Kitsap continues investigating the cost of a new turf field.
“We need to have that info,” said Canton, who estimates drainage costs could run between $100,000 and $400,000.
Canton believes the earliest a new field — he estimates the total cost being around $1 million — could be in place would be the 2015-16 school year. The question now is funding.
“We know we’re not going to get any money from the district,” Canton said.

Available on Kindle