Troopers vs. Officers vs. Deputies

When you’re reading through our “Code 911” section in the Kitsap Sun, you’ve probably noticed that different law enforcement agencies respond to different kinds of emergencies and crimes, in different locations.

This bears some appropriate interpretation.

Generally speaking, there are three different law enforcement agents that go to 911 calls in the county. Let’s start on the larger level, and work our way in:

Washington State Patrol troopers

Found most times on — but not limited to — the state’s 17,524 miles of highways, a trooper’s primary tasks are “traffic law enforcement, collision investigation, and motorist assists,” according to their Web Site. Employed by the state, the core of about 1,000 troopers also specialize in driving under the influence (DUI) enforcement and can be called in by local law enforcement to perform field sobriety tests.

Like all agencies, they do have unmarked cars (without overhead lights) and different-colored cars, but most are white and bear the Washington State Patrol logo on their sides. Troopers have light blue uniforms and the trademark black bow tie.

The state patrol also is the enforcement arm of the U.S. Coast Guard aboard Washington State Ferries (which are technically state highways themselves) and runs the state’s criminal investigation labs.

Kitsap County Sheriff’s deputies

Like all the state’s counties, Kitsap, Jefferson and Mason Counties have a sheriff. Here in Kitsap, Sheriff Steve Boyer oversees about 120 sheriff’s deputies and an 80-plus corrections officer staff at the Kitsap County Jail. From responding to 911 calls to investigating crimes with their detectives’ unit, they patrol the unincorporated areas of the county.

The Sheriff’s office, too, has different types of cars, but most are green in color. Their uniforms are tan (with brown pants), and include a badge in the shape of a six-pointed star.

city patrol officers

Finally, we come to the municipal police officer, employed by individual cities. In Kitsap, our four cities — Bainbridge Island, Poulsbo, Bremerton and Port Orchard — each maintain a police department.

They each perform similar duties as the sheriff’s office does for the incorporated cities of the county. Patrol officers wear dark blue uniforms with an oval-shaped silver badge signifying the city they work for.

Their cars are different colors, however. Bainbridge’s cars are mostly white; Poulsbo’s and Port Orchard mostly a shade of darkish blue; and Bremerton’s mostly silver.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Before you post, please complete the prompt below.

Please enter the word MILK here: